ISTQB Advanced Test Analyst - 4 day instructor led course

Course Overview:

This Advanced Level qualification is appropriate for anyone who wants a deeper understanding of software testing. This includes people in roles such as testers, test analysts, test engineers, test consultants, test managers, user acceptance testers and software developers.

The Advanced Test Analyst certificate is for those people involved in the identification, creation and execution of test cases. The course focuses mainly on a range of black box test design techniques.

Business Outcomes

A candidate who has achieved the Advanced Test Analyst certification should be able to do the following:

  • Perform the appropriate testing activities based on the software development lifecycle being used.
  • Determine the proper prioritisation of the testing activities based on the information provided by the risk analysis.
  • Select and apply appropriate testing techniques to ensure that tests provide an adequate level of confidence, based on defined coverage criteria.
  • Provide the appropriate level of documentation relevant to the testing activities.
  • Determine the appropriate types of functional testing to be performed.
  • Assume responsibility for the usability testing for a given project.
  • Effectively participate in formal and informal reviews with stakeholders, applying knowledge of typical mistakes made in work products.
  • Design and implement a defect classification scheme.
  • Apply tools to support an efficient testing process.

Who should attend?

The Advanced Level - Test Analyst Certification is suitable for anyone involved in the identification and creation of test conditions and test cases, and the execution of tests. Delegates must already have passed the ISTQB Foundation Certificate.


The course builds on the ISTQB Foundation syllabus. It is highly recommended that prior to attending the course delegates attend the ISTQB Foundation course. In order to sit the Advanced - Test Analyst exam, delegates must have passed the ISTQB Foundation exam.

The Examination

The examination is run on an agreed day soon after the course to allow participants to revise. It is a three hour exam, consisting of 60 multiple choice questions. To gain the Advanced Level - Test Analyst Certification, a delegate must get at least 65%.

Follow-on courses

Once the Advanced Level - Test Analyst qualification has been gained, there are two possible courses:

Course content
End of Course content
The course follows the ISTQB Advanced Level - Test Analyst 2012 syllabus and covers the following:

1. Testing Process
1.2 Testing in the Software Development Lifecycle
1.3 Test Monitoring, Planning and Control
1.4 Test Analysis
1.5 Test Design
1.6 Test Implementation
1.7 Test Execution
1.8 Evaluating Exit Criteria and Reporting
1.9 Test Closure Activities

4. Testing Software Quality Characteristics
4.1 Introduction
4.2 Quality Characteristics for Business Domain Testing

5. Reviews
5.1 Introduction
5.2 Using Checklists in Reviews

2. Test Management: Responsibilities for the Test Analyst
2.1 Introduction
2.2 Test Progress Monitoring and Control
2.3 Distributed, Outsourced and Insourced Testing
2.4 The Test Analyst's Tasks in Risk-Based Testing

6. Defect Management
6.1 Introduction
6.2 When Can a Defect be Detected?
6.3 Defect Report Fields
6.4 Defect Classification
6.5 Root Cause Analysis

3. Test Techniques
3.1 Introduction
3.2 Specification-Based Techniques
3.3 Defect-Based Techniques
3.4 Experience-Based Techniques

7. Test Tools
7.1 Introduction
7.2 Test Tools and Automation